Chocolate is naturally vegan, but processed chocolates, including dairy products, are non-vegan. Vegan chocolate ingredients are simply Chocolate liquor, sugar, cocoa butter, and vanilla.
They are certified as vegan products for their identification. In addition to this, you can easily make your own vegan chocolate at home with the ingredients present.
Read ahead if you want a clear view of what is vegan chocolate made of and its recipe.
- Ingredients that make chocolate vegan are its only contents: chocolate liquor, sugar, cocoa butter, and vanilla
- Vegan chocolate can be identified when it is vegan certified, tagged dairy-free, or vegan milk types, including soy lecithin.
- Making your own vegan milk chocolates and dark chocolates at home with vegan ingredients
What Ingredients Make Chocolate Vegan?
Chocolates are made from cocoa, a plant-based food, and should be vegan. However, by the time the cocoa from the plant reaches you, it has been subjected to rigorous processing. They are added with chemicals and various dairy products like milk or milk fat, making it a non-vegan diet.
So, what are vegan chocolates, actually? Vegan chocolate is manufactured without the use of animal or dairy products.
If you are looking for vegan chocolates, the first step is to read the ingredient list.
Chocolate liquor, sugar, cocoa butter, and vanilla should all be included in a conventional vegan chocolate bar.
The fewer the ingredients on the label list, the purer the delicious vegan chocolate bar you’ve seen! When looking for vegan chocolate, choose high-quality dark chocolate. Choose chocolate with a cacao concentration of 50% or more.
But, does that mean all Dark Chocolates are Vegan?
No, dark chocolate is not always vegan. In fact, it is often not acceptable for vegans since it contains one, two, or three animal-derived components. Most dark chocolate contains milk fat, milk, natural flavor, and other components, so it is not vegan.
While we’re talking about natural flavorings, dark chocolate should always be vegan. But this isn’t always the case. If you are a vegan, you should remember that most dark chocolate is not vegan on its first appearance.
Vegan Chocolate Identification Tips
If you are going to buy vegan chocolate, you need to keep three things in mind while doing so.
- First, look for the word ‘vegan’ or ‘vegan friendly’, on the label packaging or if the product is vegan certified.
Prepared by Canva
- See if there are no-dairy options or for plant-based or vegan milk like rice milk, instead of dairy milk. You should avoid if there are ingredients like-
- Milk solids
- Milk fat
- Milk derivatives such as casein and whey protein isolate
- Shellac, AKA confectioner’s glaze
- Lecithin from animal sources
- Check if the lecithin is made out of soy or sunflower if it is not mentioned as an animal source.
Are Vegan Chocolate Ingredients Healthy?
Unroasted cacao powder used in raw chocolates contains antioxidants and minerals like magnesium, fiber, protein, etc., making it healthy. Dark chocolates are also beneficial as they contain iron, copper, magnesium, zinc, phosphorus, etc.
Vegan chocolates can aid in maintaining digestive health and may possibly reduce cholesterol levels. With its lower calorie and fat content, it can also be a part of a healthy weight control strategy.
You may be able to enjoy the flavor and texture of chocolate without ingesting many calories. Vegan chocolate is frequently lower in saturated fat than normal chocolate, which is good for your heart.
Furthermore, dark chocolate is healthier than milk chocolate since it includes more flavanols. Flavanols are natural antioxidants present in blueberries and apples that aid in the prevention of cardiovascular disease.
Of course, this does not imply that you should eat a chocolate bar every day. Fruits and vegetables are still the better choices, but a few squares of dark chocolate can assist.
Plant-Based Chocolates Are Not Vegan!
Even though they may sound similar, plant-based chocolates and vegan chocolates are not the same thing.
A plant-based chocolate bar mostly contains cacao and other high-quality plant-based ingredients like vanilla bean or coconut oil. They may also include unusual and delectable ingredients such as milk or butter.
Vegan chocolate differs from plant-based bars. Even though it is derived from cacao, it will never contain animal or dairy ingredients. Plant-based bars are only suitable for individuals who choose a plant-based diet, so they may contain non-vegan elements.
How to Make Vegan Chocolates?
Here are two Vegan Chocolate recipes for you to make your own vegan chocolate.
Vegan Milk-Chocolate Recipe:
- Melted Coconut Oil (1 cup)
- Coconut Cream (½ cup)
- Raw Cacao powder or Unsweetened Cocoa Powder (½ cup)
- Powdered Coconut Sugar (¼ cup)
- Sea Salt (1 Pinch)
- Vanilla Extract (¼ tbsp)
- Cacao Nibs (For decoration)
Procedure to Make Vegan Milk Chocolate
- In a blender, combine the melted coconut oil, coconut cream, cacao powder, and powdered coconut sugar. Then sprinkle the salt, and add vanilla with it.
- Add additional salt if needed for taste, coconut sugar for sweetness, and extra vanilla to enhance the chocolate flavor. Or you can add more cacao/cocoa powder for a more powerful flavor if necessary.
- Pour the mixture into muffin molds or cases.
- Freeze them (this should take about 30 minutes). Refrigerate or freeze for up to a month.
Vegan Dark-Chocolate Recipe:
- Raw Cacao Powder (½ cup)
- Chopped Cacao butter (½ cup)
- Pure Maple Syrup (3 – 5 tbsp)
- Sea Salt (1 pinch but optional)
- Vanilla Extract ( 1 tbsp)
Procedure to Make Vegan Dark Chocolate
- Boil 1/4 cup of water in a small saucepan. Reduce the heat to low and insert a heat-resistant bowl into the saucepan.
Make sure the bottom of the bowl does not come into contact with the water.
- Place the cacao butter in a basin and chop it into tiny bits. Remove the heated bowl and set aside to cool after the cacao butter has melted.
- Stir in the cacao powder until there are no lumps. Stir in the maple syrup and salt.
- Pour the melted chocolate into molds or a small square/rectangular dish coated with parchment paper.
Freeze for about 10 minutes or place in the refrigerator for 30 minutes.
N.B. Make sure the butter you are using didn’t turn bad already.
Best Vegan Chocolate Brands To Try
There are various vegan chocolate brands you can consider exploring and purchasing. Here’s a simplified table containing popular vegan chocolate brands, their features, with a purchase link for your convenience.
|Enjoy Life Semi-Sweet Mini Chocolate Chips
|Vegan and gluten-free certified. It is Non-GMO, soy-free, and nut-free.
|Raaka Pink Sea Salt Dark Chocolate
|Vegan and gluten-free certified. 71% cacao dark chocolate, Non-Gmo, USDA Organic, Kosher and Paleo
|Unreal Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter Cups
|Vegan and gluten-free, fair trade, and Non-GMO certified. Also, no sugar, soy-free, and alcohol-free.
|Theo Pure Organic Dark Chocolate
|Vegan and fair trade certified. USDA Organic and made from 70% cacao.
|Conexion Dark Chocolate
|Vegan, Gluten-free, Non-GMO, and kosher certified. Also USDA Organic with 85% fine cacao.
|Beyond Good Salted Caramel Chocolate
|Vegan and Non-GMO Certified. It’s also organic and 73% cocoa.
|Lebby Dark Chocolate Roasted Chickpeas
|Vegan and gluten-free certified. Perfect vegan snacks for adults and kids.
|Rad Vegan Milk Chocolate
|Vegan, gluten-free, and soy-free certified. USDA organic and paleo friendly
|Hu Cashew Butter Dark Chocolate with Vanilla Bean
|Vegan and gluten-free certified. Also, Paleo, Non-GMO, and fair trade products
|Lindt Excellence Dark Chocolate Bar
|Vegetarian certified with 85% cocoa.
Once you select a vegan chocolate, use it to make several delicious desserts like Vegan Chocolate Banana Ice Cream. Along with that, you can go for recipes like Baked Oatmeal with Dark Chocolate, Hazelnuts, and Chia Seeds.
Frequently Asked Questions
Are White Chocolates Vegan?
No, white chocolates are normally not vegan. Even though they can be made vegan, they are rarely available for purchase. Lawfully, white chocolate must include 3.5% milk fat and 14% milk solids and it’s rarely made from vegan milk.
Is Kit-Kat Vegan?
No, Kit-Kat is not vegan. A Kit Kat normally contains 75% milk chocolate, which is not vegan because the milk used there is cow’s milk.
Is Nutella Vegan?
No, Nutella is not vegan. This is due to the fact that it contains skimmed milk powder. Skimmed milk powder is an animal-derived component and is not created entirely from plants.
You finally know what is vegan chocolate made of and have two chocolate recipes to yourself. Vegan chocolates are delicious and cruelty-free alternatives to regular ones, and preparing them is both satisfying and simple.
Since you learned the fundamental ingredients and followed a basic recipe. You can now make beautiful vegan chocolate desserts that are suited to your taste preferences and ethical ideals.